Since our inception in 1994, our goal has been to create a comprehensive and dedicated network of patients, researchers and health care professionals focused on providing excellent care to individuals diagnosed with the rare neuro-immunologic disorders of the central nervous system, including Acute Disseminated Encephalomyelitis (ADEM), Neuromyelitis Optica (NMO), Optic Neuritis (ON) and Transverse Myelitis (TM); while advancing our understanding of the causes and the natural history of these diseases in order to develop new acute and restorative therapies. We have done this primarily through the provision of seed funding for the establishment of centers of excellence dedicated to the study and care of these disorders, developing and funding international symposia, and continuing to educate individuals who live with these disorders and their families so they can form stronger peer-to-peer support networks. In 2008, we established the James T. Lubin Clinician Scientist Fellowship Award which supports the post-residency training of clinicians, who are committed to careers in academic medicine with a specialization in TM, ADEM, NMO, and ON clinical care and research.

Learn more about what we fund and the research supported by the TMA.